Mentor program

The IDS Project is nothing if not a community, so it places a great deal of emphasis upon support and collaboration. Central to this is the mentor program, which assigns volunteer applications and systems specialists from current member libraries to each new member. Through both onsite visits and regular communications, the mentors help the staff at the joining library to configure ILLiad, optimize their workflows, and implement the technical requirements of the IDS Project. This also helps build personal relationships that form the foundation of a strong community, which gathers every year for the IDS Project Conference. The IDS Project’s listserv provides another forum for members to stay connected throughout the year, further strengthening the IDS Project’s community.


Need a mentor? Contact Elise Thornley, Coordinator of Mentors

Meet our mentors

Name Email Institution
Nancy Abashian abashian@binghamton.edu Binghamton University
Jennifer Acker j.acker1@hvcc.edu Hudson Valley Community College
Silvia Cho jcho@gc.cuny.edu CUNY Graduate Center
Jay Kibby kibbyj@mail.strose.edu The College of St. Rose
Will Koch WKoch@brooklyn.cuny.edu CUNY Brooklyn College
Micquel Little micquel_little@cuc.claremont.edu Claremont College Library
Karen Okamoto kokamoto@jjay.cuny.edu John Jay College of Criminal Justice
Melissa Perez melissa.perez@utsa.edu University of Texas at San Antonio
Beth Posner BPosner@gc.cuny.edu CUNY Graduate Center
Chris Sisak csisak5@naz.edu Nazareth College
Elise Thornley thornley@binghamton.edu Binghamton University
Simone Yearwood Simone.Yearwood@qc.cuny.edu Queens College

The mentors assist staff in the following areas:

Meet our Logic Specialists